h1

NOT A CANON CHARM

February 21, 2011

In case it needs to be said, the Charm below is not canon.  It does not set any precedents for canon material, or for what is or is not valid Charm technology for any splat.  As with any Charm, no ST should use this on a character without the consent of the player, and should certainly not do so in an antagonistic manner.  This Charm does not legitimize douchebaggery in any form.  If you or someone you know uses this Charm in a manner inconsistent with common sense and basic human consideration, your fellow players have the right to punch you right in the goddamned mouth.  Comments discussing how it sets a bad precedent, how it is a dangerous door for Charm technology, or for explanations of how the ST can use this to screw over a player will not be replied to.  Use at your own risk.

That said… enjoy!

Just Denial of the Righteous
Cost: 20m, 2W; Mins: Martial Arts 5, Essence 5; Type: Reflexive (Step 10)
Keywords: Chicanery-No, Combo-OK, Obvious, Shaping
Duration: Instant
Prerequisite Charms: Thunder Breaks the Clouds

The most potent Solar heroes are often faced with moral dilemmas, whether to kill their defeated foe and be certain his power ends or spare him in the hope that he may repent, but risking that he will continue with his villainy.  Some of them have found a middle ground.  This Charm can only be activated if the Solar has made a Martial Arts attack that has dealt sufficient levels of damage to kill a Celestial Exalted opponent.  After damage has been rolled, but before it is applied, the Solar may activate this Charm.

In the instant this Charm is activated, the victim instinctively knows what choice is offered him: repent, and be stripped of his power, or die.  The victim instinctively makes this decision, based on the truest desires of his heart.   No external force can in any way impair this decision, and any such effects are placed in abeyance for this instant.  This is not a rationed, logical consideration: it is a primal response to choosing life or death.  For a practical guideline, assume that unless the victim’s Motivation involves his death, he will choose life.  Players may always choose for their characters as they like.  If the victim chooses death, the damage is resolved normally, and it further ensures that any contingency magic the victim may have to heal himself in the event of his death fails utterly.  If the victim chooses repentance, his Exaltation is struck out of him.

The victim’s Essence is immediately reduced to 3 (if it were higher), he has no Essence pool, and he loses all his Charms.  He is instantly refunded the relevant experience points.  If he knows thaumaturgy, Terrestrial Circle Sorcery, Shadowlands Circle Necromancy, Terrestrial Martial Arts, or any Essence 1-3 Spirit charms acquired through the Eclipse anima power, he has the option of automatically staying enlightened by paying for the Awakened Essence abomination or blight.  If he does so, he retains all Charms or spells that fall into the above criteria.  His Attributes, Abilities, Backgrounds, Willpower, and Virtues do not change, nor do his Health Levels except as modified by Charms.  He neither gains nor loses mutations, and if he was a Creature of Darkness, he remains so.  As a strange (and heretofore unknown) benefit, the individual is also instantly freed of the Great Curse, and no longer gains Limit or has a Virtue Flaw (or relevant mechanic).  He is otherwise, for all intents and purposes, a Heroic Mortal.

Assuming the Exalt continues to permit the individual to live, he remains a Heroic Mortal, and is as eligible for receiving Exaltation as he was before his previous Exaltation.  This Charm cannot function on Dragon-Blooded or Alchemical Exalted, as they do not have a separate Exaltation.  As a final note, due to the Charm’s Obvious nature, all observers understand the nature of the choice being offered, and comprehend that the consequences are those chosen by the victim.

Advertisements

5 comments

  1. You won’t even reply to my comments about Charm theory issues?


    • Not in this forum, as I’ve had those discussions with some others already. However, I’d be happy to discuss them with you in a private forum, if you’d like.


  2. That’s interesting, and sure needs some good sense.


  3. Just a question… If the victim’s Essence is already 2 or 3, aren’t they already enlightened, just without Exaltation?


    • That’s a common misconception, but from what I am given to understand, no. Having Essence of 2+ merely grants you a higher Essence score. You do not actually get a mote pool without being some sort of magical creature (such as an Exalt or spirit) or having the Awakened Essence merit.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: