h1

Exalted for Dummies

May 18, 2010
So, I’ve been asked on a number of occasions (mostly by Orrin) why I like Exalted so damned much. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to give him a completely satisfactory answer. The long and short of it is that Exalted is everything I want in a world. It’s a fantasy setting, but it’s not your traditional sword-and-sorcery setting. At least, it doesn’t have to be. It has its own, definitive themes and flavors, but without being so restrictive as to be cloying. It is a game whose fundamental premise is that you, the player, start out awesome and just get better from there. It’s about turning the dial up to eleven while still being completely (or at least mostly) internally serious.

And yet, I still don’t feel like I’ve been able to properly explain it, to him or to myself. This is going to be an ongoing series from me as I start deconstructing various aspects of the Exalted game and the Exalted setting. I hope to accomplish two things:

1.) To fully explore, both for myself and for Orrin (and anyone else who has an interest), the various aspects of Exalted and their resonance with my own desires.

2.) To convice Orrin how awesome Exalted actually is, as his responses have been decidedly lukewarm at best.

I know I’ll be able to accomplish item 1. I’m less certain of item 2, but that’s okay. It’s less important.

Leave a Reply

